On This Date in History …

… the prophecy was fulfilled.  The savior of comedy was born in Brooklyn, NY.  (Yes, I’m talking about me!  Exaggerating of course.  A little bit.)

At any rate, today is my birthday, another year older and all that, but I am having a really good day.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, Cooper and I have two media interviews set up.  The newspaper appointment is tomorrow at one o’clock.  It will run in July in the Sunday magazine section of four different papers.  Nice, huh?

I spoke to the reporter yesterday and he’s excited.  He thanked me for agreeing to the interview.  As I told him, there is mutual benefit.  He needs the story and we need the publicity.  That’s how the media and show business work hand in hand.  A symbiotic relationship.

Cooper and I met today to prepare for the interview.  She bought me breakfast for my birthday.  (She’s really a terrific friend as well as the best creative partner I’ve ever had.)  We went over the most important points we’d like to get across.  It’s exciting.  Publicity is part of the business and we’re embracing it and eager to get started.

We’re hoping to give a nice boost to our IndieGoGo campaign, which launches July 17.  We’re learning how to play the game and I’m proud of how we’re doing.  I’m in a reflective mood today with this being my birthday and I’m pleased with the course my life has taken over the last couple of years.  I took a long time getting here, but I feel like I’m finally well on my way to becoming the person I always should have been.  I feel better than I have in a long time.  I hesitate to use the dreaded “h” word, but I may be on the verge of being happy.  Remarkable.

So, happy birthday to me!  My first one as a director.  Full speed ahead into the next project.  The life of an artist is not for everyone, but I love it.  Wouldn’t have it any other way.

4 thoughts on “On This Date in History …

  1. Happy with a capital “H” Birthday to you! Much as I hate the “h” word myself . . . it sounds like you are embracing your creative side . . . which is a good thing. I’m not going to say “it’s ALL good” – a phrase I despise. But it sounds like you’ve got some good things going on so enjoy!

  2. Thank you very much, Robin. I hate that phrase, too! Things are going really well. Part of me is on edge waiting for the other shoe to fall. I just have to keep working hard, taking advantage of the breaks and always being prepared for the tough times.

Leave a Reply

