Transition Time

Now that ISN’T IT ROMANTIC? is in post production, things have settled down considerably.  I am waiting for my editor to do the rough cut.  He doesn’t like working with someone looking over his shoulder.  He’s experienced, very creative and I trust him completely, so I am having him do the rough cut without me.  He has the script supervisor’s book with all of my notes.  After he’s finished, I will take a look at it and then we will fine tune it together.

In the meantime, I am working on other things.  Basically, I am transitioning from director back to writer.  My partner and I have started on a new feature screenplay.  We’ve got a concept we both really like and are off to a good start.  It’s a process I’ve been through many times and with which I am very comfortable.  It is, however, the first time I’ve completed production so it feels less hectic and exciting.  The time spent in preparation and on set required so much work and energy on my part, that I almost feel lazy right now.

Another thing I am keeping busy with is reviewing my performance during the production of IIR.  I made some mistakes and there are things I will do differently the next time.  As a rookie director, it is natural that I would have made some errors.  A big part of why I made the movie was to learn, after all.  I think the main thing I need to work on is my organizational skills.  I tend to do things on the fly.  My mind works very quickly and I adapt and plan at high speed.  That’s all well and good, but my team doesn’t have access to my mind.  It is really important to get things on paper so that other people know exactly what we’re doing and how.

I also need to more clearly define the role of each person on the team and make sure that he or she knows exactly what is and isn’t a part of that job.  Coordination between departments is also critical.  I’ve given all of this a lot of thought and I am very excited about the prospect of directing another film in the, hopefully, not too distant future.  I have many ideas and a great writing partner to help me craft the script.  It will essentially come down to my ability to raise the money.  The business side of filmmaking is another area that I need to work on.  Networking and promotion do not appeal to me at all, but they are vital parts of the business and I need to learn them.

Overall, this has been a terrific experience and I have grown as an artist and as a person.  I went way outside my comfort zone numerous times and not only survived, I thrived.  I’ve got to do this again.  In the meantime, it’s great to be  a writer again, especially because I get to work with my talented and quite brilliant partner.  I guess I’ll be blogging about that until I’m ready for my next production.

Leave a Reply

