A Few More Shots

Although production officially wrapped on Saturday, there were a few shots left to capture.  We needed some shots of the Kreskys’ car traveling for the montage of the trip to the inn.  No need for full cast and crew, and in fact, it was just me driving the car with my DP capturing the images.

The montage will have music under it, so we didn’t need sound.  Exterior, so no lights.  We did have to be careful to keep the camera at enough of a distance that you can’t see there’s only one person in the car.   I didn’t want to drag my co-star around unnecessarily.  We also had to keep the camera back in the shots from behind the car.  The license plates wouldn’t match.  I had the fake Danny Kresky vanity plate on my car when we shot on our location property.  I couldn’t take that chance while driving on public roads and highways.  Thus, in these shots my actual plate is on the car.

I also got a look at the footage and at a very rough cut of the entire film.  Not bad.  My DP threw it together just to see how the shots fit.  My editor is very experienced and talented and I have no doubt he’ll do a great job.  I believe we have the makings of a pretty good movie. Good feeling.  After all, we put a lot of work into this.

I’ve been going over the entire process so far and looking for mistakes I made and what I will do differently next time.  As a first time director, it was inevitable that I would make some mistakes.  I did some things very well but there is plenty of room for improvement.  I absolutely will direct again and next time do it better.  Learning and improvement was a big part of why I made the movie.

One thought on “A Few More Shots

Leave a Reply

