This Is It!

Today was quite hectic.  It is now about 8 PM.  I just ate dinner.  I arrived home about an hour ago after running around the state of Connecticut since about 7 this morning.  Last minute details.  I had to go to pick up my prop camera, pick up a rental van, pick up my DP,  pick up the equipment we rented and get to my location.  Everyone one of those places in a different town.  I’m tired but happy.  We got our set ready to go and we’ll get off to a good start tomorrow.

As I looked around at the lights, C-stands, silks, flags and other equipment, I experienced some of that surreal feeling I had last night while shooting the marquee at the Warner Theater.  I’ve observed the action on film sets a few times in my life, but this was different.  This was my set.  This time, I’m the guy calling the shots and a huge responsibility sits on my shoulders.  I walked around, moving through the blocking for the scene, imagining what it will feel like when I’m performing and directing for real.

How many times have I thought about this?  Wondering what it would be like, if I would ever get the opportunity.  How would I handle it?  It’s been a long time coming, but the last several weeks flew by.  It’s pretty incredible how much we accomplished in a pre-production period that lasted only eight weeks.  My director of photography told me he thought what I’ve done is amazing, that he thought it was impossible to prepare for production that quickly.  Nice to be able to amaze.

Huge day tomorrow.  Not only do I have to direct my cast and crew, I’ve got to play my part well.  I want to make a great film.  I feel the pressure and the enormity of the situation.  It’s quite a load to carry, but when I push past the layers of insecurity, the little neuroses and get right down to my core, the truth is clear.  This thing is in the bag!  Like I have my entire life, when the heat is on, I will rise to the occasion and deliver the goods.

One thought on “This Is It!

Leave a Reply

