Taking Stock

The handful of you who actually follow my blog (I don’t know how you do it, even I get sick of me!) know that I’ve been in a melancholy mood lately.  I’ve been allowing myself to be overly affected by a little roller coaster ride I’ve been on for almost a year now.  I keep looking at the film I’m shooting and seeing all the things I have yet to accomplish.  It’s a bad habit I have.  I tend to look at the goals ahead of me and worry about what I haven’t done.  At least once in awhile, I need to take a look back at everything that I have accomplished.  I’m not doing so bad.

Since I was in high school, I’ve wanted to make a movie.  I would think about it, what it would be like, how exciting it would be.  I’ve waited a long time for that and now it’s happening.  I realized I’ve already accomplished a lot.  I’ve got two absolutely beautiful locations that will greatly add to the production value of ISN’T IT ROMANTIC?  We are using them at a cost that easily fits our budget.  I managed that with my passion and personality.

I’ve got an excellent cast.  We’re not talking friends and family or community theater actors.  I’ve got four, experienced well-trained, professional actors.  As for me, I’m a stand up comic.  I can do anything!  I’ll be great in my part.  My cast likes the script.  They’re eager to go.  I have no doubt they will do an outstanding job.

Of course, I have plenty of help.  My production team is working hard and they are dedicated.  I realized that I motivated them.  They liked my script, they believe in me.  They picked up on my passion and energy.  I’m doing what a good director is supposed to do.  Leading my team.

Four weeks ago when we started preproduction there was a huge list of details that I sweated.  There were questions about whether or not eight weeks was enough time to get ready.  That list is now considerably smaller.  We are right on track and as long as everyone is diligent, we will be ready for production on October 13.

I may not have everything I want, but I am living out a life long dream.  How many people can say that?  And who knows?  If this film comes out as well as I hope, I just might be able get what I want the most.  Sorry, I can’t reveal what that is.  Let’s just say it would blow away the gray skies and I would be genuinely happy.

2 thoughts on “Taking Stock

Leave a Reply

