A Game of Tag

I was pleasantly surprised today to receive an email informing me I had been tagged by Manda.  The way the game works is that, having been tagged, I reveal 10 things about myself and then tag 10 other bloggers I would like to know more about.  This is a cool idea to help us get to learn more about each other and I am sincerely flattered to be chosen.  So here we go:

10 Things About Me

1. I’m ambidextrous.  I use my right hand predominantly, but I can write, eat and throw with my left well enough to get by.  When I was 15, I broke the middle knuckle on my right hand and for the number of weeks it took to heal, I did all my school work left-handed, as well as played quarterback in pick up football games with my friends, again with my left.  I can switch hit in baseball (not a great hitter from either side)  and shoot from either side in hockey.

2. I played a lot of sports when I was young.  Hockey was my favorite.  At 5’6″ and 160 lbs. I was generally the smallest guy on the ice.  But I never shied away from physical play, rather I loved it.  Blocking shots and slamming into guys who outweighed me by 40 lbs. was how I spent the better part of a game.  It earned me the nickname, “The Little Stick of Dynamite”.

3. Those of you who follow my blog know that I am a screenwriter who is directing his first film.  Here’s something about my writing.  With the exception of one script that is loosely based on an aspect of my grandmother’s life, I base all my protagonists on myself.  I write incredibly detailed character biographies for all of my major characters.  My protagonists all share their birthday and place of birth, June 19 in Brooklyn, NY.  (Even the character based on my grandmother has that birthday and place)  Naturally, I was born on June 19 in Brooklyn.

4. I am more comfortable in front of an audience or camera than I am in front of people in actual life.  Very often, in social situations where I am around large groups of people I don’t know well, I become very self-concious and introverted.  As a comedian, or when I am acting, I am completely unselfconscious and able to do or say anything.  It’s a fascinating phenomenon that I don’t completely understand.  It just happens automatically.  I do have a pretty big ego and a lot to say about everything.  I need an outlet, and as much as I love writing, sometimes I need to vocalize.  I guess that’s what it is.  I can do things when performing I could never do in real life.

5. I love watching “Project Runway”.  This is really funny, because I am the least fashion conscious person on the planet.  I dress for comfort.  I don’t know what’s in style, I don’t care what’s in style and I wouldn’t wear it anyway.  I stumbled on the show accidentally when it was still on Bravo.  I was watching “Celebrity Poker Showdown” and when it ended the remote wasn’t handy, so I just watched the next show, which was “Project Runway”.  What an entertaining program!  I love artists and fashion designers certainly qualify.  The show is really funny too.  Michael Kors’ derogatory comments, Heidi Klum’s icy stare as she says, “One of you will be out.”  And how about Tim Gunn?  I honestly believe that no matter how low anyone was feeling, he could pick up their spirits.

6. I have Woody Allen’s MANHATTAN  memorized.  The entire film.  Every word.  I LOVE movies.  I have hundreds of lines from films I love at my disposal.  MANHATTAN  is my favorite movie of all time and I watch it at least once a month.  I can mute it and supply all of the dialogue.

7.  I love jazz!  I listen to other styles of music, but nothing moves me like jazz.  I’m a huge fan of Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie, John Coltrane and Miles Davis, just to name a few.  I also spend hours listening to Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday.  I play the saxophone.  Alto is my main horn, but I have a tenor and soprano too.  I also play a little clarinet and flute and mess around on piano.  I’ve studied music theory and jazz improvisation and once played in the saxophone section of a big band.  This experience comes in handy when choosing music for a film.

8. In my freshman English class in high school, we were once assigned an essay in which we were to discuss whether we would prefer to be an unhappy philosopher or a contented cow.  I chose the unhappy philosopher, and I’ve come to realize, that’s exactly what I grew up to be.

9. I love classical literature and one of my favorite novels is Charles Dickens’s “Great Expectations”.  Brilliant book, lovable, memorable characters and an amazing story.  Pip’s growth throughout the tale is fascinating to experience and quite moving.  I’m really touched by the book because I can identify with Pip’s love of the beautiful Estella, the woman he desires with all his heart, but never gets.  Story of my life!  I am the king of unrequited love.  I guess I’m too picky.  All the women I’m really interested in are way out of my league.  It’s like a Greek tragedy.  Maybe I should pluck my eyes out.  Nah, it’s been done.

10. I sometimes think it would be cool to have myself cloned and then fight the clone.  Not out of anger, but just because it would be the most evenly matched fight I would ever be in.  The clone would have every one of my physical and mental attributes.  I suppose my greater experience would give me an edge.  It’s an idea on my list of potential screenplays.  I have some very strange ideas.

 

Here are the 10 bloggers I’ve tagged:

maryfreemannyc

gnosticbent

Cristian Mihai

Media Production with Melissa

Curly Miri

mypenandme

J. L.’s Thought Matrix

ellisnelson

purpleowltree

awkwardpro

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Game of Tag

  1. That’s so weird to me that you love being in front of audiences/cameras but not hanging out amongst a group of people. Maybe the distance from the audience makes you feel more comfortable? I guess I just hate both because of the self-consciousness aspect. It’s awesome, though, that you love performing!
    Your list just made me realize I need to watch more Woody Allen films. I’m pretty sure I’ve only seen Annie Hall, and I liked it, from what I remember.
    And I must say, I like your idea of fighting your clone. That would be very interesting to watch, I imagine.

  2. Honestly, Manda, it’s weird to me too. I think you’re onto something with the distance. When performing, I can hide behind a character. Even when doing stand up, I’m playing a fictionalized version of myself. I admit, I do thrive on being the center of attention at times.

    Woody Allen has been my idol since I was 10. He’s not for everybody, but given your field of study, I believe you would really enjoy his films. They deal with human behavior and relationships in such creative ways. I love the way he’s not afraid to take chances or to fail, both important traits an artist needs to grow.

Leave a Reply

