The Journey Begins

With my background finished, I can turn to the purpose of this blog, my short comedy film, “Isn’t It Romantic?”, which begins shooting in October. Notice that I called it a comedy. Despite the title, it is not at all romantic. It’s a whimsical title. The question is: “isn’t it romantic?”, the answer: “not even close”.

Despite the opposing opinions of some of my screenwriting colleagues, I don’t write romantic comedies. Not really. My comedies are about common life experiences and certainly, relationships fit into that category. So, I write comedies about relationships, but there is nothing remotely romantic about them.

I am clueless about romance. I can’t write it, can’t perform acts of romance in real life, can’t even really define it. The movie is about a writer/director who does make romantic comedies. Woman love them to the point they feel his wife is the luckiest woman in the world. In reality, he is like me, the least romantic guy in the world. It drives her crazy and she finally confronts him about it. He attempts to bring some romance into their marriage, but of course screws it all up. It leads to a touching ending where they work things out. At least that’s what I had planned.

I’m in a bit of a crisis. A friend of mine, who is an excellent writer and actress, brought something to my attention. She is playing one lead, and I, the other. She’s also one of my co-producers. She really knows movies. I sent her an e-mail about a proposed montage for the movie. While it was funny, she pointed out to me that it didn’t fit the story. No problem there. But she unearthed a major flaw.

My character is Danny Kresky, the writer/director. She is playing Danny’s wife, Diana. She found a thematic problem. She expressed to me that if Diana could say one thing to Danny about romance, it would be that it is much simpler than he thinks it is. She then asked me what one thing Danny would say to Diana. I have no answer to that question. I am absolutely clueless.

The script needs revising, especially the ending. Nothing major, just some tweaking. But, until I can answer that question, I really can’t make this movie. I’m starting to think I got myself into something I can’t handle. I tried to skirt the romance issue and make a relationship comedy and I got drawn in.

Other than that, things are going extremely well. I have a line producer who is handling our budget and schedule. Our funds are in the bank. I have my two leads, my co-producers, I’m directing. We have our director of photography, first assistant director and script supervisor. We also have a great location where we can shoot all but one scene. Overall, it’s going pretty smoothly. But I do have to fix the script.

We are having a meeting tonight. We can talk it over there and see what needs to be done. I am probably overreacting. I have a tendency to do that, especially about things for which I have passion.

At any rate, we are off and running. I’m excited and nervous and anxious and feeling everything one should expect to feel when undertaking a creative endeavor of this magnitude. I do know one thing though. No matter what happens, we are going to have fun doing this. Otherwise, what’s the point.

Leave a Reply

